Skip to content ↓
  • Font Size

  • Colour

Highdown School
and Sixth Form Centre

  • slideshow image

Governors support school leaders effectively and ensure that the work of the school leads to sustained improvements in students’ achievement.


Highdown’s governing body consists of a group of parents and other interested individuals who are committed to support the school continue to improve at every level.  We are ultimately responsible for the school’s strategic direction and vision and seek to do this by monitoring and evaluating Highdown's activities and results.  We are very encouraged with the close relationship we have with our School Leadership Team and work closely with them to ensure the best possible outcomes for our students.

John Taylor, Chair of Governors


Our governors join in with our house system along with students and all other staff. The house they belong to is in brackets below.

The composition of the governing body:




Council Representatives

Mrs C Lamsdale


Parent Governors

Mr M Cuttin

  Mrs G Monro (Rosehill)

Mr A Rajantie

  Mrs S Siddiqui (Rosehill)

Mr J Taylor


Staff Governors

Mrs L Gannon


Mrs R Sadler

  Mrs S Stevens (Caversham)


Ms R Cave


Community Governors

Mrs A Chenery

  Mr S Lovelock (Mapledurham)
  Mr T Taylor (Rosehill)

Mr S Woodhull


Clerk to the Governors

Mrs M Martin



Mr J Taylor


Vice Chairs

Mr S Woodhull



Governors' Committees


Teaching and Learning

Chair: Mr A Rajantie


Finance, Staffing & Premises

Chair: Mr T Taylor



Link Governors


Mr A Rajantie


Sixth Form

Mr S Woodhull

Safeguarding Mrs C Lamsdale  
SEND and Pupil Premium Mr S Lovelock  
Staffing Mrs R Sadler  


Procedure for contacting the Governing Body

Our Governing Body has three core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

For queries / concerns related to these, please email the Chair of Governors, Mr John Taylor, via the Clerk to the Governing Body, Mrs Mandy Martin, Please include “FAO Chair of Governors” in your message title.

Responsibility for the operational / day-to-day running of the school rests with the Headteacher, Ms R Cave. For issues related to this, there are established procedures and policies for making contact with the school.